Chronicles of the Intern

Hello,

I am the new Student Conservation Association Archeology Intern at Southeast Archeological Center. I started this past January and I will conclude my internship at the end of March. The following series will chronicle my experiences as an intern, exploring that variety of divisions contained within the Center.

Introduction/First Week:

Myself, a recent graduate and just days away from her first day at SEAC!
Myself, a recent graduate and just days away from her first day at SEAC!

To start with, my name is Michelle and I just recently graduated with my B.A. in Anthropology at the University of Florida. After a few test runs of various classes and volunteer/intern opportunities I found my interests lie in Archaeology (I’m still working on deciding if I land on the historic or prehistoric side). When I received the offer to intern at SEAC I was ecstatic! For one, when people asked the one question that all college seniors dread, “What are you doing after you graduate?,” I actually had an exciting, within my career-field response! I mean, how many kids can say that?! The other great and also admittedly nerve-wrecking thing about having the chance to intern at SEAC was that I was about to work at the Mecca of Southeast Archeology. These were the experts of the region, a region I want to work in, and so of course when I arrive on Day 1 of my internship I was a ball of excitement and nervousness, mostly I just couldn’t stop smiling. Day 1 consisted of the typical first day routine: introductions, meeting with the director, and a tour, but the best part was the fact that it wasn’t typical. I had no idea how many different operations are managed by SEAC, and I, fresh out of college me, was going to be able to spend a portion of my internship with the following divisions: Compliance, Curation, Administration, NAGPRA, Applied Sciences, and National Historic Landmarks and External Contracts. The chance to consistently be learning and actually meeting everyone at the office as I moved about the departments, that I can say has been my favorite aspect of being an intern at SEAC. The rest of the first week I spent learning about the laws and regulations that fund and direct the need for archeology in the government system, getting into the nitty-gritty of Sections 106 &110 as well as refreshing my memory of such legislations as the Antiquity Act. So all in all, my first week was a success! The rest of this series will follow my experiences in each division, so for the next post: Curation.